The Montana High School Rodeo Association (MHSRA) is one of the 41 states, 5 Canadian provinces, and Australia that is involved in the National High School Rodeo Association (NHSRA). Founded in 1947 by Claude Mullins, there are currently 12,500 students in the NHSRA competing in over 1,100 sanctioned rodeos every year. MHSRA members compete at the state level for local recognition and the top four contestants in each event then qualify to compete in the National High School Finals Rodeo held in July. At the NHSFR over 1,500 contestants compete for national titles, awards and scholarships. By being a student member of the MHSRA, contestants also have an opportunity to be awarded college scholarships and scholarship assistance for continuing their educational careers. The NHSRA is an independent student athletic association that relies on the financial assistance of sponsors. For more information about the MHSRA, follow the links on the left and contact any of the directors or secretary.



  1. See the Montana News page for the latest information and rules regarding the newest NHSRA event, Reining Cow Horse.



more info

There's Junior High Division too!

    Contact us today!

(click here)


  1. President: Ryanne Tracy
  2. Vice President: Jordan Harrell
  3. Secretary: Hannah Wollenburg
  4. Queen: Kieran Patten
  5. Bareback: Colton Green
  6. Saddle Bronc: Connor Wines
  7. Bull Riding: Jess Lockwood
  8. Tie Down Roping: Wyatt Lytton
  9. Steer Wrestling: Carson King
  10. Team Roping - Header: Will Powell
  11. Team Roping - Heeler: Bryer Davis
  12. Boys Cutting: Haven Meged
  13. Girls Cutting: Josey Wilcox
  14. Barrel Racing: Hannah Wollenburg
  15. Pole Bending: Celie Salmond
  16. Goat Tying: Ryanne Tracy
  17. Breakaway Roping: Abby Knight
  18. Queen Director: Lizzy Vaughn